Father

 

Good night, good night

goes the voice of a breadwinner, his
eyelid steeled and mouth mechanized
bellowing the two humbling syllables.
(they were warmed and baked but
the children do not rise)

Feet shuffles backward, slipper against marble

it is almost midnight
and seeing that this is the time
the rest seeks rest,
his wrist rigidly turns upon the doorknob
angle by angle
as he gently untwists his worries
from today, from yesterday,
leaving two daughters asleep
and thinking of tomorrow’s

risks
again.


hello! my name is renata, and above anything else that I deem important to say, I just want to thank every reader who has been reading my posts; I’m so immensely grateful that you came by.

from this post onward, I’ve decided to seam my posts with journal-ish thoughts in this section. And with every first thing comes the need (or so I feel) for an introduction (whether you read it or not – doesn’t matter for the following tbh):

i can’t say for sure what lured me into poetry, but one of them would be this animation+poetry, titled “To this day”. It was a moving slam, and had brought me up during the lower troughs in my life. Even as I re watched the video, I couldn’t help but feel the choke, the glare in his voice yet the strain of it all, again and again and again. I guess that made me want to emulate such power from curated words and to present the hidden side to things.

i’ve never considered myself a possible writer, a poet; I’m really just a rambler. So when I first got into CAP, I was utterly flabbergasted, and more than happy to be part of the seminar. I swear it was a dream come true. Then when I applied for CAP Mentorship and – i seriously dk how but – got in, I almost felt like I had struck one-billion at MBS. Even though I’m not legal. Like WATEVENOMG

but anyway I’m feeling so lucky now and I can say that I’m so glad for having listened to that slam, for having saved me and not deprive me of this awesome opportunity. Now, I can’t wait to meet my mentor!!!!

also it’s like 1.21am now so I’m feeling extremely tired now. aka I’m leaving you now bc sleep.

okbye

p.s. so glad I wrote this poem.

 

 

Leave a Reply

